MoSCoW Prioritisation Technique


Once again I'm applying business project management tools to guide my work as an artist. This time I'm using what's known as the MoSCoW method which is helping me to prioritise topics I'm writing about in the first chapter of my PhD. Sitting down at the screen my mind was all in a muddle. I started by doing mind maps but they got a bit overwhelming, quite like my mind. The MoSCow method on the other hand seems more promising. I have written the ideas I believe I will need to address in my chapter on a bunch of index cards. Then I categorised them as follows: 
  • the cards under the letter 'M' must be done in order for the chapter to be a success
  • the cards under the letter 'S' should be done, these are high priority but can be satisfied in other ways if absolutely necessary
  • the cards under the letter 'C' could be done because it's desirable but not necessary
  • the cards under the letter 'W' are things I would like to address, but perhaps it's better to do that at a latter date or in another chapter.