5 Success Stories

The above text-image was created to accompany my student Charlotte's performance-lecture in which she invited the audience to rate images of fashion models and celebrities as either 'ideal', 'average' or 'below average', whilst reading out statistics about male sexuality as reported in men's magazines. This piece was influenced by Katherine Araniello's 2009 re-make of Martha Rosler's Vital Statistics (1977). 

I'm writing this post from the train on the way home from Scarborough. As the scenary whirs past, I feel contented in the knowledge that my mission is accomplished; I have changed lives, 5 in particular. My students Hannah, Kane, Beck, Charlotte and Lydia took risks, pushed their boundaries and transcended societal pressures by expressing who they really are through the medium of performance art. 

Documentation of last night's collaborative performance entitled 5 Success Stories will be posted in a forthcoming blog-post - watch this space.